Facts about Oceania

Nauru is the smallest country of the continent

Australia is the largest country of the continent

Rugby is the most popular sport of the continent

The Aboriginal people of Australia live here for over 80.000 years

Over 10.000 islands make up the continent of Oceania

The koala, platypus, kiwi and kangaroo can only be spotted here

Background info

Oceania consists of 14 countries, all islands:

  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

The two biggest countries of Oceania are Australia and New Zealand. It’s the smallest continent on earth considering the landmass. Within the continent you can find more than 10.000 islands! In fact, all of the countries within this continent are islands, differing in size. Some barely inhabitable and other huge in size. A total of about 32 million people live on these islands.

Oceania can be divided into four parts: Australasia, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Each with their own culture.

With a population of just over 40 million people it is the 6th least populous continent in the world, behind Antarctica. The largest and most populous country in Oceania is Australia, and Sydney is the largest city on the continent.

Located in the central Pacific Ocean, Kiribati is a sovereign nation with a land area of just 310 square miles (800 km2). This country actually spans 1.3 million square miles (3.5 million km2). Its spread straddles both the equator and the 180th meridian, placing it in all four hemispheres.

Famed for its unique wildlife you can find animals here that you can’t find anywhere else in the world, like koala’s, kangaroos, quokka’s and wallabies.